Winter in the Garden

On cold but clear days, it is such a joy to take a cup of tea into the garden to wander, relax and take stock of what needs to be done. There is nothing quite like sitting in the garden under a tree and this weekend has been such an opportunity for me in spite of the pressures of election campaigning.

Sitting in the garden

Sitting in the garden

First the good news. My spinach and silverbeet are thriving and I never cease to be delighted when I pick some and put it straight into a steamer and onto the plate. My mint is sprouting again after I cut it back hard and the pineapple sage is providing a splash of colour.

Greens to eat

Greens to eat

Mint coming back

Mint coming back

Pineapple sage

Pineapple sage

I have put some manure and lucerne in my veggie boxes and left them until the spring. Plus I have manured and plaited the raspberry canes in readiness for lots of fruit next summer. I can’t believe I have managed to get so much done in spite of so little time.

Veggie box

Veggie box

Raspberry canes plaited

Raspberry canes plaited

But there is always more to be done.

My lemons and Tahitian lime need feeding with the yellowing leaves a complete give away. And I can’t believe it, since it is only June, but the nectarine tree looks like it might be in blossom soon which means I need to get cracking to stop curly leaf.

Lemons yellowing - time to feed

Lemons yellowing – time to feed

Tahitian Lime

Tahitian Lime

The seasons are certainly changing with very dry winters, to the point of having to water and fill up my Chascade! Now jonquils are in flower in June. Even the daphne looks like it might flower shortly. I can’t wait for the perfume in the house.

Jonquils in flower

Jonquils in flower

Daphne ready to bloom

Daphne ready to bloom

Even as winter sets in, there is much to be grateful for.

Late afternoon sun

Late afternoon sun

7 thoughts on “Winter in the Garden

Leave a Reply

