Sowing winter seeds

At 6.30 this morning I sowed my carrot and parsnip seeds and planted leek seedlings to take advantage of the warm soils so they will germinate before the soil gets too cold. It is after all, the first week of autumn.

You might think I am quite mad to be out gardening  at that hour but you see I love it. It is quiet, still and a world away from the emissions trading debate and the noise of politics.

I was brought up on a small dairy farm in north west Tasmania where my late father loved growing vegetables and would not be beaten by the conditions or the time constraints and I think it is a case of like father like daughter. My life is very busy but gardening keeps me sane and I love to eat what I grow and to give the surplus away.

My pink lady apples

My pink lady apples

Because I won’t have time this weekend to do it, this morning was perfect. I have read Peter Cundall’s list of what must be done in March and I am on track. The roses are out, the tomatoes are ripening, the passionfruit vine looks sick, the six Pink lady apples on my miniature tree are maturing and I have dug my first potatoes. I can now also put on my “to do list” weed the flower bed which has been neglected waiting for the nesting superb blue wrens to leave their nest (you can just make it out in the photo below).

Autumn is such a luscious time of the year when you cannot give zucchinis away and when everyone has too many tomatoes. By afternoon the garden is warm and in this “ season of mists and mellow fruitfulness, close bosom friend of the maturing sun”, it is pure pleasure to plunge your hands into the warm soil.

superb blue wren nest

superb blue wren nest

2 thoughts on “Sowing winter seeds

  1. Wonderful Christine! A voice of sanity in a crazy world that will resonate deeply with so many people – walking the talk towards a more sustainable planet. I feel privileged to have shared the tour of your garden the other evening, and am inspired to revitalise my own after months of neglect.

  2. Hey folks,

    Letting you know that our community Harvest Fair is on this coming Sunday (28th). Plenty of gardening people to meet up with.

    Check it out here: http://waterworksvalley.com/are-you-going-to-the-waterworks-fair/

    Nice blogsite Christine. I am keen to share stories on getting the most out of vegetable gardens. Since I found out how nice beetroot leaves are to eat, and turnip leaves, and in PNG the villagers all ate pumpkin leaves (the fresh end shoots) and my nirvana of vegetable foods is the inside stem of broccoli (i.e. inside the fat stalk) and how you can eat every little bit of coriander (leaves stems roots and seeds) as they do in Thailand…. we must waste an awful lot of good edible stuff from our gardens.

    One tip: when harvesting lettuce, keep that darker green more bitter exterior leaves and just slice them up as a vegetable in stir fry.

Leave a Reply

