Blackbirds bye bye, I wish

I have become quite irrational about blackbirds. I cannot stand them bullying native birds and am frustrated that they

Those blackbirds have been at it again!

Those blackbirds have been at it again!

are so destructive in the garden. Their song is not enough compensation for the problems they cause. I planted some Spanish onions and some spring onions a couple of weeks ago and along they came and scratched them out. This morning, before the ANZAC service, I harvested the last of the tomatoes and pulled out the remaining basil plants as well and then added some of David Stephens fabulous compost, it looks good enough to eat. I rescued the few remaining onion plants and have now put a paling on each side of the row so as to outsmart the blackbirds. It will be interesting to see if it works.

I also thinned out my carrots and parsnips and decided to abandon the broccoli and throw it on the compost heap and start again.I planted seedlings in early March so as to get them going before the winter while the soil was still warm but the white flies were still around so the plants were so badly infested it seemed a lost cause. Climate change is going to make gardening a lot more tricky in Tasmania than it used to be. White flies used not to be able to survive the winter cold  in Canberra  and in Tasmania but now they are over wintering in Canberra and I suspect the same will soon be the case in Hobart if it is not the case already. Sleeper weeds that used to be constrained by the cold are now taking off and becoming invasive. With fewer hours of chilling there will be a need to change fruit varieties to accommodate the higher minimum temperatures.  When I was last at Rocky Cape at the Roberts Thompson’s tulip farm they were saying that the increasing minimum temperatures were a problem for their tulips which is why they have expanded into liliums as well. Adaptation strategies to climate change sound like a mouth full but they extend beyond water efficient gardens and come right down to the fruit and flower beds in the home garden.

2 thoughts on “Blackbirds bye bye, I wish

  1. Hello Christine,
    I was thinking about the trouble your having with the black birds, I recall years ago my Nana using small strips of metal and having it hung up on branches etc, so when the wind would pick up, the metal would move and frighten off the birds.. Iv also seen people recycle plastic bags etc used the same way for this same purpose.. Its just a thought !!

  2. I hate our blackbirds passionately – I don’t mind sharing my garden with birds it’s the sheer scale of their destruction that gets me riled. They devour every single strawberry, they have dug up all my zucchini and all of my new seedling beds. They dig weed seeds to the surface where they sprout and they dig holes in the lawn as well as eating all of my worms. They do NOTHING good for the garden and what is more NOTHING scares them. Our neighbours have 3 brawny cats, we have 1 big dog, I have hung flashing CD’s, ribbons, scarecrows, strings and even netting. They are pure unadulterated NINJA.

Leave a Reply

