Tea Tree Flowers

When I was having my planter boxes built, I had to decide on a motif and was given a choice between waratahs and tea trees or ferns. I decided on tea tree as I wanted something common to coastal areas.

Leatherwood growing in my tea tree planter box

Leatherwood growing in my tea tree planter box

When they were done I was a bit worried that they looked too much like a traditional child’s “flower” drawing. But now having once again seen them flowering in the wild, I am reassured. Although a very common native plant, the tea tree flower is quite exquisite and the trees themselves are very robust and easy to grow. The idea of backing the plywood with aluminium has worked a treat and I am very happy with the leatherwoods which if kept trimmed will not outgrow the boxes. There is a leatherwood in a barrel in a native plant nursery that I have seen that has been there for a decade and it flowers beautifully…there is nothing more flattering than imitation I am told.

The real thing. Tea tree growing on the banks of the Huon River

The real thing. Tea tree growing on the banks of the Huon River

One thought on “Tea Tree Flowers

Leave a Reply

