Cyclamen: Not just a pot plant

For some reason I always thought cyclamens were an indoor plant in Tasmanian conditions…. a nicely wrapped pot plant present that lasted until the flowers died and then seemed to disappear..presumed dead from drying out.

A palette of winter colour from my cyclamens

A palette of winter colour from my cyclamens

It was not until I visited a very special garden owned by a breeder of hellebores that I saw miniature cyclamens growing under trees and providing splashes of colour in a winter’s garden. Since then I have planted them in my own garden and they thrive in Tasmania’s cold conditions and provide lovely foliage and colourful flowers. They break all my rules of edible, native or fragrant but they are a thing of beauty.

Delicate cyclamen blooms

Delicate cyclamen blooms

3 thoughts on “Cyclamen: Not just a pot plant

  1. They are gorgeous, aren’t they?
    But several of the species and miniature hybrids are highly perfumed! They smell kind of sweet and peppery. They don’t actually break your rules after all 🙂

Leave a Reply

