Tea for Two: Maidenhair Fern and I

I decided to repot my frangipani as a reward for two months of beautiful flowering and because it was in danger of toppling over from becoming top heavy in a small pot.

Frangipani enjoying its new pot...

Frangipani in its new pot

It is now in its new pot and hopefully with a feed, it will thrive. So having bought the potting mix, I decided to do the same for my maiden hair fern in the hope that it will become a success. I love these ferns when they are lush and prolific but mine is always scraggly and pathetic.

In need of a cuppa: maidenhair fern not going so well

In need of a cuppa: maidenhair fern not going so well

The books say moist but not too moist, light but not full sun etc so there is always room for huge margin of error which I seem very good at exploiting. My mother suggested adding some cold tea leaves and that was reinforced by a nurseryman I met recently so it seems that if you empty a cold tea pot occasionally, the fern will appreciate the tannins. So my maidenhair is now situated in a light position, in a new pot with fresh potting mix and some cold tea. It has no excuses now.

5 thoughts on “Tea for Two: Maidenhair Fern and I

  1. Just on the tea – most plants enjoy it, I have a begonia in the house that only gets the remains of the teapot every few days. It is the healthiest and strongest one I have ever seen.
    A maidenhair is stronger than you’d think, we have one at work, by the back door, which gets the hot afternoon sun every day and goes magnificently, even with the drafts of smokers going in and out all day.

    • Dear Benn,
      It seems that the maidenhair at your workplace is very resilient. I hope that mine responds to some TLC and if that doesn’t work perhaps the tough love yours experiences is the way to go.
      cheers Christine

  2. Yes I appreciate the comments about the tea because I have been doing the same to both my begonia and maidenhair that sit in our dining room receiving the morning sun through double glazed windows. They are responding beautifully. I thought I had remembered my Mum saying to do that so it’s good to have that advice reinforced.

  3. Just on the tea – most plants enjoy it, I have a begonia in the house that only gets the remains of the teapot every few days. It is the healthiest and strongest one I have ever seen.A maidenhair is stronger than you’d think, we have one at work, by the back door, which gets the hot afternoon sun every day and goes magnificently, even with the drafts of smokers going in and out all day.
    +1

  4. When someone writes an article he/she maintains the idea of
    a user in his/her mind that how a user can be aware of it.

    So that’s why this article is amazing. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

