Camomile Lawn

Who can forget Mary Wesley’s 1984 novel The Camomile Lawn? The novel recalls a visit to the Cornish coast in 1939 by a group of young people who stay at their aunt’s home.

Grow little camomile, grow!

Grow little camomile, grow!

 The novel takes its title from the camomile lawn which stretches from the mansion down to the coast.

So when I was at Envirofest at the Botanical Gardens and the Friends of the Gardens were selling camomile for lawns, how could I resist? I have a patch of bare earth under a eucalypt in my garden and I had been considering gravelling the area as nothing seems to grow there but now I am intent on seeing if camomile will thrive. So I bought one plant as a trial.

The hopeful beginnings of a camomile lawn

The hopeful beginnings of a camomile lawn

 If it works I will go back to the Friends of the Gardens plant sale in September and buy several plants to speed the process.

 The Friends’ plant sales are excellent and I can guarantee the quality of the plants as I have bought several over the years and they are all in prime condition. Put it in the diary : Friends of the Royal Tasmanian Botanical Gardens spring plant sale, Sat 18 Sept 10-3pm.

Leave a Reply

