White Triggerplant: Is it rare?

When the box nearest my door was planted I decided to opt for Tasmanian natives so there are a couple of creepers, with the flag iris at the rear and triggerplants in the front.

My box planted with triggerplants and the flag iris

My box planted with triggerplants and the flag iris

I have always loved the Tasmanian flag iris, Diplarrena moraea but it became a particular favourite as a result of the research I did at the time I was campaigning to save Recherche Bay from logging. I travelled to Paris at that time to go to the Natural History Museum there it see the collection of plants that had been identified, named and collected in Tasmania by botanist Jacques Labillardiere on the D’Entrecasteaux expedition in 1792. I cannot describe my excitement when I was taken to a filing cabinet and shown the specimens that he had collected two hundred years before.I then went out to the Paris suburbs to Malmaison, Empress Josephine’s residence to see if any of the trees that had been planted from seed by the gardener on the voyage, Delahaye, had survived.

A rarity? My white triggerplant in flower

A rarity? My white triggerplant in flower

Sadly the once magnificent grounds had been eaten up by the suburbs and only a few hectares remain with no eucalypts in evidence. When I look at the flag iris now I try to see it as the French would have seen it and marvel at the cultural connection.

But I digress.

All my triggerplants are pink except one which is white and flowers at a different time from the rest. I was going to replace it with a pink one until Bob Brown stopped me suggesting that it might be rare. Is it a triggerplant? Is it rare as Bob Brown seems to think it might be? I’d love to know.

2 thoughts on “White Triggerplant: Is it rare?

  1. Hi Christine,

    We collected and propagated some white trigger plants from a population we found by the roadside at Weldborough. There is a little community of whites there and they usually flower white when grown from seed. On that trip through the North East we saw many different forms of common plants, and I was so amazed at the diversity that I penned a note to Forestry Tasmania to ask them how they work to conserve these kinds of differences in plants that are not threatened species, but are unique forms of common ones, that was 6 years ago and I am awaiting a reply….
    Your trigger plants look glorious! I’m enjoying your posts,

    Paulette

    • Paulette, it is so interesting to hear you say that about plants from NE Tasmania. A recent discovery was a new colour of telopea truncata, waratah from that area. It has a cream flower with pink around the outside and has been registered as St Mary’s Sunrise. It is available at the Plants of Tasmania nursery at Ridgeway.

Leave a Reply

