Don’t remove the tree, move the road

When I was in the Tasmanian parliament I used to drive past this special heritage property of Forest Hall near Deloraine on my way from the north west coast to parliament and so I was horrified when I received a phone call one day in 1990 to say that the Department of Main Roads was going to cut down an old pear tree to make way for a road expansion.

Saved and left to grow, the old pear tree at Forest Hall

Saved and left to grow, the old pear tree at Forest Hall

The tree was one of the original varieties in the gardens of this heritage property and I was not going to see it cut down. As a result the road was widened but the tree stayed and every time I now drive past it in blossom or fruit, I love the fact that it is still there and I regard it as my heritage pear. I am sure the current owners have no idea that this lovely old tree had such a near miss.

Leave a Reply

