Home in my Garden At Last

Tulips on display at Floriade

Tulips on display at Floriade

It is so frustrating to be away from home so much and to know that spring is progressing and the planting is not. I have had to be in Canberra a fair bit and so have taken the time to visit Floriade and the National Gallery with its sculpture garden and new garden replacing the car park. I have also had the pleasure of seeing spring envelop the Parliament House gardens but nothing compares with getting your hands in the dirt at home. I will put up some posts on these events but I need to report from home first.

Crumble and champagne recipes at the ready for the rhubarb

Crumble and champagne recipes at the ready for the rhubarb

This last weekend I have been busy moving plants like rhubarb, pulling out old silver beet, and planting and feeding a range of vegetables and fruits. I have embraced the use of liquid fertiliser, Charlie Carp and I have also used chelated iron for the first time.

The old silverbeet is going

The old silverbeet is going

At Floriade, there was a vegetable and fruit section with lots of good ideas like this use of a frame for berries like youngberries or underberries.

The Floriade berry frame

The Floriade berry frame

I listened to a lecture there about the merits of chelated iron for citrus or any plants with yellowing and iron deficiency. It was suggested that the iron be mixed with water into a paste and then diluted to weak tea colour and then put on the root zone…instant gratification was suggested. So given my ongoing problems with a sick passionfruit I got going and drenched its leaves with Charlie carp and its root zone with iron. I will not take stunted growth and poor performance for an answer. It has come down to fruit or else for that specimen.

I planted two blueberry bushes and in addition to a few lettuces and beetroot, I have planted tomatoes. This is in complete defiance of local convention that tomatoes are not planted until after Hobart Show Day at the end of the month. I have also purchased a couple of frames for the tomatoes as I do not want a repeat of last year when the plants heavy with fruit lacked ventilation and I had a problem with fruit dropping and rotting before I was aware that I had a big crop underneath. If there is a frost before show day, I will be suitably chastised.

This year my tomatoes will grow up, not out!

This year my tomatoes will grow up, not out!

Alternatively convention may need to move with global warming which seems to have advanced the seasons by a few weeks in Tasmania. I feel so much better for my efforts.

Leave a Reply

