The promise of spring inspires a return to blogging

I am so glad that Spring is on its way. It has been a long, cold winter in Tasmania and I have hardly spent any time in the garden in part because of the weather and in part because I have been working almost non stop as part of the Multi Party Climate committee. Now I intend to take some time to smell the roses when they eventually flower again. I have really missed not having my hands in the soil and the sense of well being that goes with it.

Freesias and tulips sensing the not too distant spring

Freesias and tulips sensing the not too distant spring

As I left for the office this morning I noticed that the pot of freesias and tulips that I quickly planted a few months ago are well on the way to flowering. I was also delighted to see that my daphne is flowering and in good health in spite of almost total neglect..no yellowing of leaves in sight. The daffodils are beginning to bloom and the hellebores make a colourful display.

Daphne and daffs looking healthy in spite of my absence from the garden

Daphne and daffs looking healthy in spite of my absence from the garden

Hellebores showing a burst of winter colour

Hellebores showing a burst of winter colour

In the vegetable boxes, the green manure crop I planted because I knew I would be neglecting the garden, is also coming along nicely and will be able to be dug in for spring vegetable plantings.

Green manure crops keeping the soil healthy

Green manure crops keeping the soil healthy

I am so looking forward to getting into the rhythm of the seasons again.

 

3 thoughts on “The promise of spring inspires a return to blogging

  1. oh wow so glad i found this blog!!
    I live in Tasmania, and would absolutely love a vegie garden, but unfortunately i have no clue where to start, I’m not very good at gardening but would love to learn! I will be watching this blog lots!!
    thanks 😀

    • Thanks Amm, glad you found the blog. If you are looking for some gardening tips there is a year round planting guide at the top of the page that tells you what to plant and when. Happy planting.

  2. I have to say that your garden is looking rather fabulous for something you say is neglected!

    I do love the first signs of spring when the bulbs start to pop up. It reminds me that this long cold winter will eventually end and provides a little moment of joy for each one.

Leave a Reply

