Stiff as a board but happier

I have been getting more and more anxious about the state of my garden in recent weeks as I have known that if I could not find the time to begin to get it under control then it would get away from me as the spring advanced. There is nothing like a few warm days on top of the rain for a forest of weeds to become established. So last weekend I took to it in earnest. First I had to get the watering can in action to feed all of my citrus with chelated iron to bring them back to deep green health rather than the yellowish tinges they are beginning to show.

Citrus gets a drink of chelated iron

Citrus gets a drink of chelated iron

 

Then I manured my vegetable boxes and planted carrots and silver beet in one with rhubarb in one corner. I had finished and was about to move on when a blackbird turned up to scratch everything out and so I had to resort to the netting until the plants get established.

Blackbird proof!

Blackbird proof!

In the other I put in some coriander and had a moment or two to eat some cape gooseberries straight from the plant. It is such a great feeling to pluck a fruit from a plant and eat it right there and then. This fruit is new to me as I only planted it last year but I am really enjoying it.

Tasty cape gooseberries

Tasty cape gooseberries

Next it was the raspberry canes that needed to have the old dead canes removed, plants fed and tied up ready for maximum bearing. I do love fresh raspberries and in Tasmania we have just the right conditions for them.

Raspberries ready

Raspberries ready

I also took to the oreganos and thymes that I am growing as a ground cover and trimmed them all down to about four centimetres so that they will grow vigorously without lots of old dead wood underneath. At the same time I hacked at the cape ivy, banana passionfuit and blackberry canes that are sprouting from the neglected paddock next door and sending large runners over into my garden.

Ground cover herbs ready to spread

Ground cover herbs ready to spread

With the invasion thwarted I had to give up as I am so unfit that I could feel the weekend’s work having a big effect but I feel so much better because now I know that everything is fed and under sufficient control to allow me to deal with the rest in due course.

Not a weed in sight!

Not a weed in sight!

I sat down with a cup of tea in full view of the pots of tulips and hyacinths just beginning to flower and felt a great sense of satisfaction in spite of the aching limbs.

Spring is just around the corner

Spring is just around the corner

5 thoughts on “Stiff as a board but happier

  1. I love Herbal tea sitting outdoors, Just relaxes me to no end. I find the American brand “Celestial Seasonings Tension Tamer” just is so fantastic for the soul. My balcony garden doesn’t sound so extensive as yours Christine.

  2. I’m a gardener and horticulturist, i practice permaculture, been working on my own garden for about 12 years now and its starting to work, an integration of ecological design into urban landscape horticulture.
    A big rush at the end of winter to have all the prep work done for the following growing season is tough work and incredibly satisfying.
    I’m providing myself with a basic staple of water chestnut, pumpkin, beans, potatoes, fruit, veges.
    Lots of birds, there is a queuing system, I jump the queue and they all complain, the long time residents will listen and share in a delightful way, we sit and watch till the fruit is ready and at dawn, its first in first served. summer soon summer.
    Its fun engendering communication with all the environment
    Thanks

Leave a Reply

