Getting the garden under control

After another day in the garden on Saturday I am at last feeling as if I will get the weeds under control before they over take the fruiting plants. My strawberries were in danger of being overtaken by foxgloves and rope twitch and my gooseberries seemed condemned to the same fate. I can happily report that the reverse now applies. My hands are showing the results of attacking gooseberry bushes as even with gloves, they are a mean plant to deal with.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

On the pure pleasure side I can show off my tulips which only a few weeks ago were just emerging and now are a wonderful display. It is amazing how the simple pleasure of seeing beautiful flowers in bloom can lift the spirits. So too unusual, bulbs. This fritillaria meleagris is one of the bulbs I planted in the rocks around “Chascade” and I was delighted to see it suddenly appear. It is so good to see the plants in the rockery starting to flourish and soften the appearance of the whole water feature. It is now a year since the water feature, Chascade, was finished but it is an ongoing source of joy as every gardener knows, nothing is ever finished.

As to my blueberries, I am still struggling against browsing animals, possums I think. As the new leaves appear, they just as quickly disappear so not to be outdone I fenced them off this weekend and so will see if that makes a difference. I also fed them with sulphate of ammonia after consulting a gardening book as apart from the browsing, they are not thriving and are spindly. I took to feeding everything in a big way with lots of blood and bone and Epsom salts going in all directions and will take a dim view of any citrus or passionfruit that fail to respond.

The carrots, silver beet, spinach and broccoli I planted recently are also going well under the net so, all in all, things in the garden are keeping me happy.

5 thoughts on “Getting the garden under control

  1. Ah weeds, a sure sign that spring has sprung. Can’t wait to get some chickens and a chook tractor, that will sort them:)

    I have put in my seeds for spring, starting a crop rotation cycle based on a 3 bed plan, am looking forward to see how it all goes.

    In the “After” pic it looks like you have some string/line between your posts, that has helped me come up with a solution to my issue of the dogs jumping into our vege beds and digging up the soil and any seeds/plants that get in their way. Excellent:)

    Some great pics of a really nice garden, congrats.

  2. Gardens are great! The foreground plants in the ‘after’ photo remind me of letters – have a look at my recent garden at : http://youtu.be/B3mLTbNGMXw It was planted mid July and we picked it mid September – you can see the produce that we picked and donated to charity groups for needy families : http://youtu.be/oU03T_OFRfA. Its part of my SUN food garden project.
    The intensive local conversion of waste to food (reducing food and waste miles) and was a presentation at the recent Waste and Recycle conference in Perth. Will be posting a video about the project to haywoodfarm soon

  3. I do love this time of year as the hard grey/brown of the winter garden softens with a green tinge then the bright colours of spring flowers. My poor front garden looks terrible as the pergola has just been replaced and the fence is in the process so it has been rather trampled but the backyard brings a smile to my face every morning. There is something quite uniquely satisfying about a blooming garden.

  4. Hey Christine, have you checked the pH of the soil around your blueberries. Grab a kit from the gardening shop and it is easy to do. Blueberries love low pH, somewhere around 5 I think. If you need to acidify your soil (lower pH), copious amounts of Sulphur (S) will do the trick.

Leave a Reply

