Garden up to scratch

After months of neglect, I have now managed to get the garden under control and it feels good. It has taken me a number of years to reach a stage where the garden is constantly changing in subtle ways and I am always pleasantly surprised as the fading of one flower sets the stage for the blooming of another.

Solomon's Seal follows the daffodils

Solomon's Seal follows the daffodils

Take Solomon’s Seal, a perennial plant which appears very rapidly after the daffodils and spring bulbs have faded and shoots up to about 60 cm with lovely white flowers gracing the green stems. How can you not love it? I am also very happy with this creeping thyme which I have now planted in several locations around the garden and unlike culinary garden thyme is not woody and leggy but maintains a high gloss and flowers beautifully for the bees to enjoy.

Creeping thyme, a joy for visiting bees

Creeping thyme, a joy for visiting bees

My native dogwoods were a picture this year and unlike in the wild where they are subject to the ravages of several other creatures in the ecosystem, they were brilliant and looked great against the native hop bushes which the birds love.

Native dogwood enjoying safety of the garden

Native dogwood enjoying safety of the garden

I also love this plant which I bought from the Friends of the Botanical Gardens in Hobart and was propagated by Dr Helen Cutts.

This wonderful plant from the Botanical Gardens is loving its spot near the water feature

This wonderful plant from the Botanical Gardens is loving its spot near the water feature

One thing I especially value in my garden is the plants that I have been given over the years or which I have planted to mark special occasions. It makes a garden a very personal and special place.

 

3 thoughts on “Garden up to scratch

  1. I’m a fan of Solomons Seal too. I always thought it looked very Japanese, although I haven’t the faintest idea where it comes from.

    Your local bees must be very happy with the garden proving a steady roster of flowers to feast on.

  2. I agree Christine, you have had good reason to neglect your garden, but from what I can see, it look pretty amazing!

    I totally agree about plants that mark special occasions. When I bought my house, the previous owners asked if they could take one of the rose bushes as they had planted it to mark the birth of their son. Of course I agreed, what a special plant!

Leave a Reply

