Time poverty and my garden

Finally I have had time to see what has been happening in my garden in the weeks since I took over the leadership. Autumn is progressing and the changing colours are beautiful but a reminder that winter is on its way.

Beautiful autumn colours in the garden

Beautiful autumn colours in the garden

I planted a few broccoli and silver beet seedlings a few weeks ago and they are thriving and the leeks are also now looking sturdy in spite of assaults from blackbirds which scratch out seedlings as fast as they go in.

Don't tell the blackbirds!

Don’t tell the blackbirds!

Sadly my rhubarb has died. This is a mystery because it has not been excessively dry in Hobart. I love rhubarb and apple mixed together so it looks like starting all over again…it is what gardeners do best in my experience.

The mysterious case of the dead rhubarb

The mysterious case of the dead rhubarb

My lemon verbena is going well as is the pineapple sage and even the lemon tree is fruiting without much tender loving care.

Lemon verbena doing well in my absence

Lemon verbena doing well in my absence

Lemons and pineapple sage soldiering on regardless

Lemons and pineapple sage soldiering on regardless

What I am pleased about is the rapid spreading of this thyme across the path beside my Chascade, otherwise known as a water feature. I now have several varieties of thyme as ground covers and they look great and are edible.

Looks great, smells great, tastes great...thyme growing on my path

Looks great, smells great, tastes great…thyme growing on my path

Gardens are so forgiving. They press on whether attended or not and I am now looking forward to the explosion of colour and perfume when the Daphne and bulbs nurture my spirit in coming months.

Chascade in autumn

Chascade in autumn

 

8 thoughts on “Time poverty and my garden

  1. Christine looks like you have had some wins and some missses down there. i guess being Leader will sap some of your time from your garden.

  2. I cannot tell you how much I think it means for a busy leader of a political party to blog about daily life, especially on something as grounding and important to well being as gardening! I’m envious of your lemons, share your joy in lemon verbena, and am sending healing vibes for rhubarb next year!

  3. Such a shame about your rhubarb! I fertilised mine just before the cooler weather started in Queensland and it is thriving.

    Best wishes and love for your garden and your new leadership!

  4. I’m in Tecoma near Belgrave (vic) and a keen gardener but due the southerly aspect of the garden combined with long winter every seedling has a limited sunlight grow this explains the need or hothouse ingrowing the seedlings…this might explain the growth when buying seedling to the actual climate adjustment. The seedling once put may need a quasi hot house environment for the immature seedling to get a foot hold.. a covering of light plastic sheet will protect from heat and cold enabling young ( 6week) seedlings
    to acclimatize and gain the growth to a mature plant. This idea is for delicate herbs broad leaf ( basil )or vegetable broad leaf being a herb or vegetable are suspect to most of the environment extremes and insect love them like we do.T

  5. Congrats Christine, on your new posting – you will be GREAT!
    I LIKE your gardening blog – do you have white moths on your broccoli in Hobart.
    Good luck!
    From an ‘up river’ Franklin Dam crusader.

  6. Your garden is beautiful. Congrats on being able to maintain it so well despite having such a busy work schedule. You’ve inspired me to get out tomorrow and tidy my very overgrown back garden.

  7. Hi Christine,
    I thought my rhubarb had died too, but it is coming back, have you checked if there’s still some thing left in the ground as I have the idea it is pretty hard to kill. I think I may actually need to seperate mine as it is quite crowded.

Leave a Reply

