Being a good Tassievore

I had a great opportunity when I appeared on the ABC’s Kitchen Cabinet to showcase just how good Tasmanian grown food is. Sadly the show was filmed in July when my garden was in pretty poor shape, so really the only thing I could contribute as home-grown was one rather meagre Tahitian lime!

However The Aproneers came to the rescue, and I bought virtually all the locally-grown ingredients I needed for my caramelised onion, spinach and goats cheese tart from there. It was wonderful to look around in The Aproneers and see all the produce labelled not just as Tasmanian, but identifying which district it was grown and sometimes even the specific farm it came from.

It is so good to see more and more people keen not only to grown their own but buy locally grown food, in season, as well. No wonder I had a wonderful, relaxing lunch last Sunday at the launch of Sustainable Living Tasmania’s Tassievore challenge.  I’m really honoured to have been asked to be one of their Tassievore champions. For a start it has given me just the push I needed to get my own veggies planted.

Image
A happy group of Tassievores picnicking in the sun at the Sustainable Living Festival
Image
Good, fresh local food for thought

If Annabel Crabb and the lovely Kitchen Cabinet crew had come to my garden this week they would see things are on the up and up – literally! – as the tomatoes, beans, pumpkin, basil and other herbs, and brassica seedlings are all growing rapidly thanks to a wonderful Tasmanian Spring.

Image

My strawberries a couple of weeks ago, ready for netting

I have also managed to get myself organised to net my strawberries and cherries, but I am devastated by the complete destruction of my apricot by the resident brush-tailed possums.

Image

My poor apricot after the first possum attack. By the next time there wasn’t a fruit or leaf left

Image

At least I have some solace from my beautiful flowering thyme

Coming into this amazing growing season which is already moist and warm, I’m looking forward to easting as much local fruit and vegetables as I possibly can, and being a good Tassievore for the next 6 months as part of the challenge.

Naturally I come and go a lot from Tasmania, but I’ll be making a special effort to eat local and seasonal food wherever I am. Luckily there are businesses supporting local growers springing up all across Australia as people’s hunger to know their farmer and where their food comes from bring new opportunities  – like this wonderful business in Orange that I visited back in April, which sells nothing that isn’t grown within 100km of the store.

Image

Wherever you are, I hope you take up the spirit of the Tassievore challenge. Buy the best local and seasonal food you can get your hands on, support your local growers and tuck in!

PS – if you missed me and all that lovely Tasmanian food on Kitchen Cabinet last night, you can watch it here and get the recipe for my onion and goats cheese tart.

9 thoughts on “Being a good Tassievore

  1. The Tassievore challenge sounds great…does anyone know if a similar type of thing is occuring in Perth, in particular around Mundaring? Be very keen to look into this further.

      • Hi David, we always try to buy local produce, and the options are getting better all the time which is excellent, Pickering is close by, we’ll check it out sometime soon:)

        The Mundaring and Kalamunda markets should be starting again soon, you ripper. I will ask the sellers/growers if they know of anything going on around locavore set up’s in the region.

  2. HI Stewart, Check out the Harvest Feast website, there is a national one week Challenge that occurs across Australia in April otherwise the Locavore websites available may have some further information.
    Feel free to contact the Tassievores via their Facebook (Tassievore Eat Local Challenge), Twitter (@Tassievore) or the blogspot site http://taseatlocal.wordpress.com if you want further information about the Challenge or to start one in WA!
    Regards Tassievore Eat Local Challenge team

  3. Dear Christine, It didn’t matter at all that all that came from your own garden in July was one Tahitian lime. Annabel Crabb didn’t focus on that. It was what you did with the Tassie produce and how proud you were of it that was the story, not whether you personally had had the time and opportunity to nurture it. You looked so happy in the program and not a moment was wasted. Obviously the producers were focusing on what you had to say even more than on what you cooked. And what a delightful, relaxed dinner party you girls had. Well done! Christine, there is a standing invitation for you to come to lunch with me at Rotary any time you are in Hobart on a Thursday. Please fine me on Facebook to organise that. I would be delighted to have you s mu guest. Warm regards, Ros T. ex teaching colleague.

  4. What an excellent garden, the flower section is a nice touch. I got the new runners of my last year’s strawberries and re-planted them before winter, and I’ve got great bunches of green strawberries now! (ACT region, quite high up). Clearly strawberries are worthwhile, I’ll be integrating them into future veggie/flower gardens.

    Thought this edition of Kitchen Cabinet was the best of the lot, and someone on Whirlpool put up the link to this blog, which I’m bookmarking as it’s an excellent read.

  5. Hi Christine, I am also a new reader of your blog after watching Kitchen Cabinet the other night (my husband & I were thrilled to watch/hear 2 great Aust. gals)! We are small scale organic vegetable, herb & garlic farmers in Central Victoria, so very much appreciate your championing of Aussie growers and local food support. We are also very pleased with the job you are doing leading the Greens & proud of a number of strong stands you have been making on big current (ongoing…) issues – thank you for the courage of your convictions. Please do keep up the great work AND this lovely blog :-).
    Kind regards,

Leave a Reply

